Thursday, September 25, 2003


Types of Impaired glucose tolerance -

Types of Impaired glucose tolerance

Types list: The list of types of Impaired glucose tolerance mentioned in various sources includes:

  • Impaired Fasting Glucose

  • Gestational Impaired Glucose Tolerance

Types discussion: There are two forms of impaired glucose metabolism.

Impaired Fasting Glucose
A person has impaired fasting glucose (IFG) when fasting plasma glucose is 110 to 125 mg/dL. This level is higher than normal but less than the level indicating a diagnosis of diabetes. Approximately 13.4 million people in the United States, or about 7 percent of the population, have IFG.

Impaired Glucose Tolerance
Impaired glucose tolerance (IGT) means that blood glucose during the oral glucose tolerance test is higher than normal but not high enough for a diagnosis of diabetes. IGT is diagnosed when the glucose level is 141 to 199 mg/dL 2 hours after a person is given a drink containing 75 grams of glucose. 1 "

The odd thing in my case is that I'm in the impaired glucose tolerance range upon awakening (after fasting), and sometimes even lower. Yet 2 hours after the oral glucose tolerance test, I was 300 which is definitely diabetic.

It's no longer a question of staying healthy. It's a question of finding a sickness you like.
Jackie Mason (1934 - )

No comments: